St. Joseph's Academy


Faculty/Staff Begin Year with Orientation

Posted On: 8/3/2018

St. Joseph’s Academy faculty members returned to campus August 2 and 3 for two days of professional development and planning for the 2018-2019 academic year. New faculty members gathered on August 1 for a day of orientation.
Main Image
  • 21031-600127_
  • 21032-600127_
  • 21033-600127_
  • 21034-600127_
  • 21035-600127_
  • 21036-600127_

Principal Stacia Andricain led the two-day faculty/staff orientation, which began with mass at St. Agnes Church. Back at SJA, Andricain presented her vision for the upcoming school year, during which SJA will celebrate the 150th anniversary of its founding by the Sisters of St. Joseph in 1868. She also discussed this year’s charism theme of Leadership: Weave One Heart

During the two days, faculty and staff heard from President Jan Rhorer Breen, STEP/Emergenetics coordinator Hugo Andricain, Mission Advancement Director Meg Gerald, Admissions Director Meredith Smith and Assistant Director Kristian Vukojevic, Alumnae Director Katie Jeter Valenciano, Finance Director Laurel Herrington and Co-Director of Technology John Richardson. Round-robin discussions included information and updates from the nurse’s office, college advising, the Innovation & Design Lab and administrative team members Aubrey DeJohn, dean of academics; Erika Angarita, dean of women; and Dr. Jason Hanks, dean of curriculum and instruction.

Faculty and staff members celebrating milestone anniversaries this year were introduced. Marking five years are Yvette Aillet, Carlie Boone, Mackenzie Bowman, Ellen Frazier, Sheri Klemm, Alan LeCoq, Kayla Moscona and Patrick O’Hara. Celebrating 10 years are Lauren Garrett, Barbara Harris, T LaCour, Kevin Landry, Sharon Ogra, Sister Chris Pologa. Marking 15 years of service are Catherine Durnin, Francisco Nieto and Clarinda Palmer. Celebrating 25 years are Jill Abadie, Brenda LeBlanc and Jackie Zeller, and celebrating 35 years are Kathie Hayden and Nan Murtagh. 

New faculty and staff members joining SJA this year were introduced. They are Alise Alexander ’12, campus minister; Cody Arceneaux, science; Melinda Bailey, foreign language; Rhonda Baird ’87, science; Katie Cahalan, math; Jonathan Durocher, science; Rachel Eddlestone, English; Laura Flandez ’12, foreign language; Terri Hammatt, foreign language; Timothy LaBauve, theology; Kaki O’Connor Lowe ’04, math; Melanie Marcin, social studies; Angelle Saia, English; Meredith Smith, admissions director; and Kristian Kinamore Vukojevic ’09, assistant admissions director. Joining the faculty and staff at mid-term last year were Trey Gaudin, special projects support; Jennifer Knight, assistant mission advancement director; Alexis Stein, science; and Linda Thompson, director of operations. 

Lunch on day one was provided by the SJA Mothers’ Club. Chair of the Welcome-Back Luncheon Committee was Caroline Lemann; co-chair was Alyce Blackstone. Faculty and staff enjoyed a Mexican-themed meal catered by Ingle Eats and served by daughters of Mothers’ Club members. 

Freshmen and half of the sophomore class will be on campus for student orientation on August 6. The remaining sophomores and all juniors and seniors will have their orientation on August 7. Classes begin August 8.
Mindy Brodhead Averitt
Communications Director


search login