St. Joseph's Academy


Cross Country Team Celebrates Season

Posted On: 1/23/2019

Members of the three-time 5A state champion St. Joseph’s Academy cross country team were honored at a special recognition party on January 21 at the home of Sharon and Time Poche, parents of sophomore Lydia Poche. The team enjoyed an overview of the season’s highlights and the awarding of certificates of participation, varsity letters and special awards.
Main Image
  • 21930-600192_
  • 21931-600192_
  • 21932-600192_
  • 21933-600192_
  • 21934-600192_
  • 21935-600192_
  • 21936-600192_
  • 21937-600192_
  • 21938-600192_
  • 21939-600192_
  • 21940-600192_
  • 21941-600192_
  • 21942-600192_

Head coach Mark LaHaye and assistant coaches Kate Cook and Charlie Daigle introduced the runners and recapped the season, in which the team finished first in every meet. Other season highlights included a perfect score of 15 points at the 2-5A Regional Meet and the lowest score (23 points) on record at the LHSAA State Championship meet. 

The Redstickers were ranked number one in the final LTFCA composite poll.

Four-year letters were awarded to Lauren Hendry, Leanne Livingston and Taylor Winters. 

The following special awards were given: 

Captains’ Award: Isabelle Brown, Maddie Kate Gardiner, Lauren Hendry, Leanne Livingston and Kate Ritchie

Outstanding Runners: Isabelle Brown, Virginia Dirks, Anna Camille Eagleton, Maddie Kate Gardiner, Lauren Hendry, Sophie Martin, Lydia Poche and Kate Ritchie

Marathon Award: Amelia Cochran, Maddie Kate Gardiner, Elise Jones, Leanne Livingston, Mary Claire Saia, Catherine Saunders and Taylor Winters 

Most Promising Newcomer: Maddie Kate Gardiner

Most Valuable Runner Award: Isabelle Brown 

Coach’s Award: Leanne Livingston

Also recognized were members of the 2018 All-Metro First and Honorable Mention Cross Country teams. First team honorees are Isabelle Brown (MVP), Virginia Dirks, Anna Camille Eagleton, Maddie Kate Gardiner, Lauren Hendry, Sophie Martin, Lydia Poche and Kate Ritchie. Honorable mention team members are Elise Jones, Lilly Leonard, Angelle Martin, Mary Claire Saia and Taylor Winters. 

Recognized for being named to the 2018 LTFCA All-State Team and the 2018 LHSAA All-State Team were Isabelle Brown, Anna Camille Eagleton, Lauren Hendry and Sophie Martin. 

Honored as selections to the All-Academic Class 5A Team for cross country were Olivia Devall, Lauren Hendry, Leanne Livingston, Angelle Martin and Taylor Winters. 
Mindy Brodhead Averitt
Communications Director
Photos courtesy of Tina LaHaye


search login